Babar Azam named Pakistan ODI chief

ICC Cricket World Cup

Babr Azam, who had just been named as T20I captain a year ago, succeeds Sarfaraz Ahmed as the ODI commander of Pakistan.

Pakistan has named Babar Azam as their chief in the ODI design, authoritatively affirming his job as captain in both white-ball groups. The 25-year-old had been named as the T20I captain toward the end of last year.

In an official statement on Wednesday, the PCB affirmed that Babar Azam would lead the ODI and T20I sides for the 2020/21 season, while Azhar Ali will keep on being Test skipper.

Previous ODI captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has been officially evacuated with Babar Azam’s arrangement. He had been expelled from the skipper’s job in Tests and T20Is in October a year ago.

“I need to praise Azhar Ali and Babar Azam for getting captaincy augmentations,” lead trainer and national selector Misbah ul Haq said.

“This is totally the correct choice as they additionally require conviction and lucidity on their future jobs. I am certain they will currently begin looking to the future and begin arranging with the goal that they can assemble sides that can perform at the normal levels.”

Pakistan’s calendar for the up and coming season contains two T20Is in Ireland (July), three Tests and three T20Is in England (July-September), three ODIs and three T20Is in South Africa (October), three ODIs and three T20Is at home against Zimbabwe (November), two tests and three T20Is in New Zealand (December), two Tests and three T20Is at home against South Africa (January 2021) and two Tests and three T20Is in Zimbabwe (April 2021). They will likewise play the Asia Cup T20 competition and the T20 World Cup in Australia.

In the new rundown of focal agreements discharged on Wednesday, PCB has forgotten about Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Amir. Sarfaraz Ahmed has been downgraded from class A to B, while Shaheen Afridi and Azhar Ali have been elevated to Babar Azam.

PCB Men’s Central Contract List for 2020-21:

Class A

  1. Azhar Ali (Central Punjab)
  2. Babar Azam (Central Punjab/Karachi Kings)
  3. Shaheen Shah Afridi (Northern/Lahore Qalandars).

Class B

  1. Abid Ali (Sindh/Lahore Qalandars)
  2. Asad Shafiq (Sindh/Multan Sultans)
  3. Haris Sohail (Balochistan)
  4. Mohammad Abbas (Southern Punjab)
  5. Mohammad Rizwan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa/Karachi Kings)
  6. Sarfaraz Ahmed (Sindh/Quetta Gladiators)
  7. Shadab Khan (Northern/Islamabad United)
  8. Shan Masood (Southern Punjab/Multan Sultans)
  9. Yasir Shah (Balochistan/Peshawar Zalmi).

Class C

  1. Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa/Lahore Qalandars)
  2. Iftikhar Ahmed (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa/Karachi Kings)
  3. Imad Wasim (Northern/Karachi Kings)
  4. Imam-ul-Haq (Balochistan/Peshawar Zalmi)
  5. Naseem Shah (Central Punjab/Quetta Gladiators)
  6. Usman Shinwari (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa/Lahore Qalandars)

Rising Players’ Category

  1. Haider Ali (Northern/Peshawar Zalmi)
  2. Haris Rauf (Northern/Lahore Qalandars)
  3. Mohammad Hasnain (Sindh/Quetta Gladiators)